

The Southeastern Conference

Setting the Standard for Intercollegiate Athletics

Baseball

he Southeastern Conference, with its storied 80-year history of athletic achievements and academic excellence, has built perhaps the greatest tradition of intercollegiate competition in baseball of any league in the country since its inception in 1933.

The SEC posted another tremendous season in 2013 as the conference had nine teams earn selection to NCAA postseason play with LSU and Mississippi State advancing to the College World Series. A SEC squad has now appeared in the College World Series 28 of the last 29 years. Mississippi State advanced to the National Championship Series, marking the ninth time since 2000 a SEC team played for the national championship in Omaha and sixth in a row. LSU won the SEC tournament title over Vanderbilt. Vanderbilt won the SEC regular-season title with a 26-3 conference record, while LSU won the Western Division with a 23-7 record.

The Southeastern Conference boasts 12 former National Players of the Year (Florida's Mike Zunino won in 2012), 11 Baseball America Coach of the Year and 10 Collegiate Baseball Coach of the Year honors. Also, 161 student-athletes have been named first-team All-American, six of which came in 2013.

Three SEC players were taken in the first round of the 2013 Major League Baseball Amateur Draft, held in June in New York City. Mississippi State's Hunter Renfroe was selected 13th overall by San Diego. Jonathan Crawford of Florida was selected 20th by Detroit, while Arkansas' Ryne Stanek was 27th by Tampa Bay. With those three selections this year, the SEC has now had a first round selection in each year since 1991 and 96 total in the first round during that time.

The SEC drew a record of over 2.25 million fans to its on-campus ballparks in 2013, the seventh year in a row to draw over 1.6 million. Nine SEC teams drew in excess of 100,000 fans to their parks in 2013. The SEC averaged nearly 5,000 fans per game in 2013, the seventh straight year to exceed the 4,000 mark. The SEC Baseball Tournament drew a new record-high of 134,496 fans in 2013, 7,912 per game. The event has become the Birmingham metro's highest attended sporting event annually, second in the state only to NASCAR races at Talladega. Birmingham Magazine recently named it the top sporting event in the Birmingham area. The SEC Championship Game was broadcast nationally on ESPN2, with the semifinals airing nation-wide on ESPNews for the first time in 2012.

Notes

- The SEC has sent 48 teams to the College World Series since 1990. That was accomplished despite no SEC teams making the field in 1992. LSU has been to Omaha 13 times, Florida eight times, South Carolina six times, Georgia and Mississippi State five times, while Alabama, Arkansas and Tennessee have been three times each. Auburn has been twice.
- SEC teams have won nine of the last 23 national championships, with LSU winning six (1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009), South Carolina winning two (2010, 2011) and Georgia claiming the 1990 title. The SEC has finished runner up seven times in that time, 1997, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2013.
- SEC teams are 98-85 since 1990 in Omaha, a 53.6 winning percentage. Not counting games against each other, the SEC has posted a 73-60 record in the College World Series since 1990, a 54.9 winning percentage.
- The SEC has played 44 games in the "Final Four" of the College World Series since 1990, an average of over 1.5 per year. Only five times, 1992,1994, 2003, 2006 and 2007 has the SEC failed to get a team to the "Final Four" of the CWS.
- The SEC has averaged nearly eight games played per year in the College World Series since 1990. In 2004, 12 of the 15 games played in Omaha involved a SEC team. In 1997, the SEC had a team in 13 of the 14 games played in the CWS. Since 1990, an SEC team has played in 158 of the 344 games in the College World Series, an amazing 46 percent of games. SEC teams played in 8 of the 14 in 2013.
- The SEC has sent 10 of its 12 schools to the College World Series since 1990 Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt. Ole Miss has played in four Super Regionals the last nine seasons. Texas A&M also advanced three times since 1990 prior to joining SEC.
- Since 1990, 162 SEC squads have been invited to the NCAA Tournament, an average over seven per season. The SEC set yet another NCAA record in 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2013 with nine teams earning postseason births. The SEC also had a NCAA-record five teams earn regional host sites in 2004 and 2006.
- The SEC has had an NCAA-high 11 different teams compete in the 60-year history of the College World Series. In those appearances, the conference has registered a 120-123 record, a 49.4 winning percentage.
- Since 1990, 31 SEC squads have posted 50+ wins, while 117 have won 40+ games in a season.
- The SEC posted a 254-104 record against non-conference foes in 2013, a 70.9 winning percentage.
- SEC teams have also been strong in the polls. Since 1990, 116 conference teams have appeared in the final ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll.